Members of the Engel Group

Greg Engel


Professor

Miller Fellow, UC Berkeley 2005-2007
Ph.D., Harvard University, 2004
A.M., Harvard University, 2001
A.B., Princeton University, 1999

Chemistry Department Page
Biophysical Sciences Page
Molecular Engineering Page

GCIS E119
gsengel@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
(773)-834-0818

Karen Watters

Karen Watters
Science Editor

Postdoc, Royal College of Surgeons
Postdoc, UChicago Dept. of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Ph.D. Medical Microbiology, University College Dublin, 2008
B.Sc. Biomedical Science, Nat'l University of Ireland, Galway, 2002

GCIS E124A
karen@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
(773)-834-3974

Brenda Thomas

Brenda Thomas
Group Administrator

GCIS E124B
bthomas@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
(773)-702-7156

Sami Abdulhadi
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., Univ. of Michigan-Dearborn

GCIS E028
sabdulhadi@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
(773)-702-6066

Marco Allodi
Postdoctoral Scholar

Ph.D., Chemistry and Physics (minor), California Institute of Technology, 2015
A.B. Hamilton College, 2008
Fulbright Scholar, Heinrich-Heine Univ, 2009

GCIS E028
mallodi@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
(773)-702-6066

Elizabeth Bain
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., Wheeling Jesuit University, 2016

GCIS ESB34
bain@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
(773)-702-6066

    Charles Chen
    Summer Researcher

    The University of Chicago Laboratory School

    GCIS E028
    charleschen@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
    (773)-702-6066

      Anna Dardia
      Chemistry Undergraduate Researcher

      The University of Chicago

      GCIS E028
      adardia@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
      (773)-702-6066

        James Hayman
        Chemistry Undergraduate Researcher

        The University of Chicago

        GCIS E028
        jameshayman@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
        (773)-702-6066

          Jake Higgins
          Chemistry Graduate Student

          B.A., Hendrix College, 2016

          GCIS E033
          jshiggins@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
          (773)-702-6066

            Karen Ji
            Undergraduate Researcher

            The University of Chicago
            S.B. expected 2021

            GCIS E028
            jikl@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
            (773)-702-6066

              Lawson Lloyd
              Chemistry Graduate Student

              B.S., College of Charleston, 2015

              GCIS ESB34
              ltlloyd@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
              (773)-702-6066

              Richard Mazuski
              Chemistry Graduate Student

              S.M., University of Chicago, 2017
              B.A., Chemistry, Northwestern, 2015
              B.M., Cello Perf., Northwestern, 2015

              GCIS E028
              rmazuski@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
              (773)-702-6066

                Polina Navotnaya
                Chemistry Graduate Student

                S.M., University of Chicago, 2015
                B.S., Purdue University, 2014

                GCIS E028
                navotnaya@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
                (773)-702-6066

                Carlos Olivares
                Chemistry Undergraduate Researcher

                The University of Chicago

                GCIS E028
                olivares@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
                (773)-702-6066

                  Kathryn Segner
                  Chemistry Graduate Student

                  B.S., Vanderbilt, 2019

                  GCIS E028
                  segner@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
                  (773)-702-6066

                  Sara Hess Sohail
                  Chemistry Graduate Student

                  S.M., University of Chicago, 2017
                  B.A., Haverford College, 2013

                  GCIS E033
                  sohail@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
                  (773)-702-6066

                  Siddhartha Sohoni
                  Chemistry Graduate Student

                  M.S., IISER Pune, 2018
                  B.S., IISER Pune, 2018

                  GCIS E028
                  siddhartha@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
                  (773)-702-6066

                  Po-Chieh Ting
                  Chemistry Graduate Student

                  S.M., University of Chicago, 2014
                  B.S., Nat'l Taiwan University, 2013

                  GCIS E028
                  pochieh@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
                  (773)-702-6066

                  Ryan Wood
                  Chemistry Graduate Student

                  S.M., University of Chicago, 2017
                  B.A., Johns Hopkins Univ., 2015

                  GCIS E028
                  ryanwood@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
                  (773)-702-6066

                  Sarah Zinn
                  Chemistry Graduate Student

                  S.M., University of Chicago, 2017
                  B.S., Ohio Northern, 2015

                  GCIS E028
                  szinn@engelgroup.uchicago.edu
                  (773)-702-6066

                  Pegg Anderson

                  Pegg Anderson
                  Secretary

                  Currently enjoying her retirement

                  University of Chicago
                  Chemistry Department
                  Biophysical Sciences
                  Institute for Molecular Engineering
                  James Franck Institute
                  Institute for Biophysical Dynamics
                  MRSEC
                  College
                  quantum
                  spectroscopy
                  materials