Members of the Engel Group

Greg Engel


Professor of Chemistry and Molecular Engineering

Miller Fellow, UC Berkeley 2005-2007
Ph.D., Harvard University, 2004
A.M., Harvard University, 2001
A.B., Princeton University, 1999

Chemistry Department Page
Biophysical Sciences Page
Molecular Engineering Page

GCIS E119

gsengel@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-834-0818


Karen Watters

Karen Watters
Grant Writing Specialist

Postdoc, Royal College of Surgeons
Postdoc, UChicago Dept. of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Ph.D. Medical Microbiology, University College Dublin, 2008
B.Sc. Biomedical Science, Nat'l University of Ireland, Galway, 2002

GCIS E124A

karen@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-834-3974


Brenda Thomas

Brenda Thomas
Group Administrator

GCIS E124B

bthomas@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-7156


Caitlin Bellora
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., University of Georgia, 2019

GCIS E028

cbellora@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Hugh Cairney
Chemistry Undergraduate Researcher

The University of Chicago

GCIS E028

hcairney@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Felice Chan
Chemistry Undergraduate Researcher

The University of Chicago

GCIS E028

felicechan@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Cooper Costello
Chemistry Undergraduate Researcher

The University of Chicago

GCIS E028

costello@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Katelyn Feuling
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., University of Minnesota, 2021

GCIS E028

kfeuling@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Indranil Ghosh
Chemistry Graduate Student

M.S., National Institute of Science Education and Research, 2020
B.S., National Institute of Science Education and Research, 2020

GCIS E028

indranilg@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Chun-Chuan "Andrew" Huang
Chemistry Graduate Student

M.S., National Taiwan University, 2022
B.S., National Taiwan University, 2020

GCIS E028

cchuang@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Ainsley Iwanicki
Chemistry Undergraduate Researcher

The University of Chicago

GCIS E028

iwanicki@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Claire Jones
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., Ohio State Univ., 2022

GCIS E032

claire@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Sarah Kress
Chemistry Undergraduate Researcher

The University of Chicago

GCIS E028

skress@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Rachel Leech
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., Allegheny College, 2021

GCIS E032

rleech@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Coco Li
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., National University of Singapore, 2020

GCIS E033

cocoli@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Emma McNesby
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., St. Mary's College of Maryland, 2022

GCIS E032

elmcnesby@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Sunandita Paul
Postdoctoral Scholar

Ph.D., Tata Inst. of Fundamental Research, 2024
M.S., West Bengal University, 2016
B.S., University of Burdwan, 2014

GCIS E032

sunandita@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Molly Roesch
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., Rochester Inst. of Tech., 2023

GCIS E028

mroesch@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Daniela Santillán-Enríquez
Chemistry Undergraduate Researcher

The University of Chicago

GCIS E028

daniela@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Qijie Shen
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., Nankai Yuniversity, 2020

GCIS E033

qijie@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Siddhartha Sohoni
Chemistry Graduate Student

M.S., IISER Pune, 2018
B.S., IISER Pune, 2018

GCIS E028

siddhartha@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Keerthi Vaasan
Chemistry Graduate Student

M.Sc., IIT Kharagpur, 2022
B.S., IIT Kharagpur, 2022

GCIS E032

keerthi@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Olivia Wedig
Chemistry Graduate Student

M.S., University of Pennsylvania, 2021
B.S., University of Pennsylvania, 2021

GCIS E032

owedig@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Ping-Jui "Eric" Wu
Chemistry Graduate Student

B.S., National Taiwan University, 2019

GCIS E032

ericwu@engelgroup.uchicago.edu

(773)-702-6066


Sami Abdulhadi

Sami Abdulhadi
Chemistry Graduate Student

S.M., University of Chicago, 2020
B.S., Univ. of Michigan-Dearborn

Currently a chemist at Plastipak Packaging Inc.

University of Chicago
Chemistry Department
Biophysical Sciences
Institute for Molecular Engineering
James Franck Institute
Institute for Biophysical Dynamics
MRSEC
College
quantum
spectroscopy
materials